

Why a Constitutional Republic?: SS.7.CG.3.2 Systems of Government READING #1

Name:	

Date:



**SS.7.C.3.2 Benchmark Clarification 1**: Students will apply their understanding of federal, confederal and unitary systems of government.

All forms of government have the same three powers: **legislative**, **executive**, and **judicial**. The differences between systems of government can be seen in how those powers are organized. Some forms of government put all three powers (legislative, executive, and judicial) in one place. Other forms of government divide up the powers among different branches of the government. Comparing and contrasting the similarities and differences among systems of government shows the advantages and disadvantages of each system.

System of	Definition
Government	
Federal	A system of government where the power is shared between the central (national) government and the states. Citizens elect members of the legislative and executive branches, and some members of the judicial branch.
Confederal	A system of government where the power is given to independent states. There is little or no central (national) power. Citizens elect members of the legislative and executive branches, and some members of the judicial branch.
Unitary	A system of government where the national government (the "unit") conducts all functions of government. The national government may choose to delegate powers to smaller government units, such as states. Some unitary governments hold power at the national level while other unitary governments delegate authority to regional/state and local governments.

executive - the power of government to enforce laws, make sure laws are followed

judicial - the power of government to interpret laws

legislative - the power of government to make laws